Just as phone calls are integral to communication, so are text messages. For one to stay connected, one needs text messages. However, they can also be a security risk or a hindrance to you. So deleting text messages are just as important as receiving them.
You might have too many messages that may be inappropriate or irrelevant. Or you may have lost or had your phone stolen; hence you might want to delete your messages to secure private information. For these reasons, it is worth knowing how to delete messages from your phone remotely.
In this article, we shall answer your question about how to delete messages from your phone remotely.
Can someone delete text messages from your phone remotely?
With malware, scammers can read and delete your messages remotely. For example, if you use an iPhone, they could hack your phone by gaining access to your iCloud account. Another way is installing spyware on your phone when you click on a questionable link.
The second way you can delete messages from your phone remotely is by using the new feature on WhatsApp. This new feature allows you to delete an already sent text by deleting the message from both your phone and the recipient’s phone. We know everyone has suffered from ‘text regret’ and wishes they could ‘unsend’ a text message.
Can someone delete Whatsapp messages from my phone remotely?
Yes, WhatsApp messages can be deleted remotely. If your WhatsApp was logged into someone else’s phone, then that person has access to all your WhatsApp messages. They can easily read and delete messages from my phone remotely. Here’s how they do it:
- Finding the message to be deleted
- Tapping and holding on to it before choosing Delete, then, Delete for everyone.
- Once their phone connects to the internet, the WhatsApp message is replaced with a message that says, “This message was deleted.”
Do “Report and Block” delete messages on both sides?
When you report someone on WhatsApp, WhatsApp launches an investigation on the reported contact(s). And if it finds reasons to believe that the account’s activities violate its Terms of Service, the person’s number could be (temporarily or permanently) banned from using WhatsApp.
When certain contacts are blocked, you stop receiving their WhatsApp messages, calls, and status updates. Your last seen online status updates and any changes to your profile photo will no longer be visible to contacts you’ve blocked.
When you report a number to WhatsApp, previous conversations with the number will still appear on your phone. However, if you report and block the number, your chats with the person will be deleted completely.
Unfortunately, if you block a number on WhatsApp, all your messages remain in their app. So even if you permanently delete your account, your sent messages stay on the other user’s app. So, reporting and blocking someone on Whatsapp will not delete messages on both the recipient and sender’s phone.
Can someone delete messages from my iPhone remotely?
Legally, someone can’t delete messages from your iPhone remotely. No application will allow someone to delete messages from your phone remotely or even let you make a hard reset without physically having the phone in your possession.
However, if your phone is infected with malware or your iCloud account is hacked, they can read and delete messages from your phone remotely. Of course, this is illegal.
How to delete a Whatsapp group?
WhatsApp groups are a good way to converse with several people and to make sharing pictures and other media forms easier.
Deleting a WhatsApp group is a multi-step process. First, you must note that you can only delete a WhatsApp group you created or are the admin of. To delete a WhatsApp group, remove each member individually and exit the group yourself.
Here’s a step-by-step procedure on how to go about this:
1. Open WhatsApp on your Android device or iPhone, tap Chats, and tap on the group you want to delete.
2. Tap Group at the top of the screen.
3. Scroll down and select a profile, then tap Remove from Group and Remove to confirm.
4. Repeat the same step with every member of the group.
5. Once all members have been removed, tap Exit Group to leave.
6. After exiting, the Delete Group option will show. Tap it, then confirm it.
Read also: Why Do People Use WhatsApp Obsessively?
How to delete Whatsapp chat without a phone
If you do not have access to your mobile phone, there are other ways to delete your WhatsApp chat. By using your PC, you can achieve this purpose. Two methods can be used for this.
Method 1: Using Whatsapp Web
Before deleting a message, you must first install WhatsApp on a PC. To use WhatsApp Web on your PC:
- On your PC/Laptop, open any browser and search for WhatsApp Web.
- Launch WhatsApp Messenger on your device >> click the vertical dot icon on the top right corner of the phone >> click on Linked Devices >> Here, you will have to select Link A Device to link your phone to your WhatsApp
- Use your phone’s camera to scan the QR Code on your PC.
Now that the app is installed on your pc, you can go ahead to delete the chats you desire. Every feature on the mobile app is available here, including blocking a number. Here’s how to do it:
- Click the chat you want to delete to select it.
- Click the three vertical lines from the chat window’s upper right corner.
- Select Delete Chat.
- Click Delete Chat again.
Method 2: Deleting from Google Account
You need to access Google Drive from a computer by visiting drive.google.com. In addition, you can find all of the WhatsApp storage backups here (the backups will be here only if you accept this when installing WhatsApp).
We must go to the Settings icon to disable the automatic backup option. You click on Settings, scroll to Chats, then click on Chat backup. Here you will see the option to back up to Google Drive. Click on Never.
If you followed the steps above correctly, the messages would be deleted permanently, and you won’t be able to recover them.
How to delete photos from someone else’s Whatsapp
Deleting photos from someone else’s WhatsApp works the same way as deleting messages. WhatsApp recently enabled this feature where you can delete sent media (including images) and messages from your phone and delete them on the receiver’s phone. Here’s how:
- Get the photo you wish to delete.
- Tap and hold on to it for a while, and a prompt will pop.
- Choose Delete, then, Delete for everyone.
Once their devices have connected to the internet, the deleted picture is replaced with a message that says, “This message was deleted.”
How to delete text messages from both sides
These works differ for Androids and iPhones. While it is possible for iPhones, it is unfortunately not so for Androids (unless they use social media applications like WhatsApp and Facebook).
ForiPhones, the only way to delete an iMessage from both sides is to have direct access to both iMessage accounts.
In that case, you must completely delete the messages on both devices. When that is done, the iMessage is permanently removed on both sides.
For Androids, it is impossible to delete text messages for both sides of the conversation.
- How to Disable Incognito Mode on Android and iPhones
- How to Fix My Samsung A70 and A71 Not Charging?
- What is beta program is full meaning?